Built in 1876, historic Porter House is a rare surviving example of a commercial Victorian building within the central city. Five storeys high, the building's sandstone facade and elegant arched sash windows bring heritage significance to the street, nestled alongside an historic church. Inside, many original pressed metal ceilings remain along with its beautiful marble Art Deco stairs. Porter House with its simple and effective Italianate style has long been considered "an ornament" to this part of the city.

18751875Designed by JF Hilly.

18761876Built by builder Mr Eycles for Hugh Dixson & Sons, Tobacco manufacturer and philanthropist.

18771877Featured in Towan and Country Journal.

18791879Described as "an ornament to that portion of the city" by The Illustrated Sydney News.

18911891After building a massive warehouse on Elizabeth & Park, Hugh Dixon leased Porter House to tenants. First to W W Campbell, furniture manufacturer and then to George Johnson & Sons, leather merchants.

19091909Sydney Council approved plans to add a fifth storey, designed by Burcham Clamp.

20162016Shanghai United purchased the site for the development of Castle Residences.